Washburn Carmichael

Home
Our Firm
Approach
Services
Clients
Consultants
Tips/Articles
Trainings
FAQ
Ethics
Links
Contact Us



LINKS photo

In recent decades, the nonprofit sector has become one of the most dynamic in the American economy. But dependent on government contracts and grants and on private philanthropy, nonprofits are acutely vulnerable in the face of the economic deterioration we are experiencing now:
  • Demand for nonprofit services and goods (food and shelter) is exploding.
  • Individuals and families can't pay.
  • Staff cuts affect quality and morale.
  • Grants and gifts are cut, delayed.
There are many excellent sources for trend information and practical strategies for rethinking organizational focus and structure. Those marked with an asterisk* below offer particularly useful guidance on fundraising in this environment.

Alliance for Nonprofit Management     www.allianceonline.org
* Association of Fundraising Professionals, Greater New York Chapter     www.nycafp.org
* Association of Fundraising Professionals (International)     www.afpnet.org
Attorney General of New York State, Charities Bureau     www.oag.state.ny.us/charities/charities
Board Source     www.boardsource.org
Charity Channel     www.charitychannel.com
* Chronicle of Philanthropy     www.philanthropy.com
Council on Foundations     www.cof.org
* Foundation Center (New York)     www.foundationcenter.org
Governance Matters     www.governancematters.org
Guidestar     www.guidestar.org
Independent Sector     www.independentsector.org
New York Philanthropic Advisory Service     www.newyork.bbb.org/nypas.html
Nonprofit Coordinating Committee of New York     www.npccny.org
Nonprofit Times     www.nptimes.com

top of page

HOME

131 Mystic Drive, Ossining, NY 10562 • TEL/FAX: 914-373-4670 info@washburncarmichael.com
This website copyright 2012 Washburn Carmichael, Inc. • Site Design: Canfield Design Studios, Inc.
Photo: Courtesy of The Yard, presenter of Carolyn Dorfman Dance Company; Andre Costantini, photographer